Trend Tuesdays: Fishnet Tights & Socks

If I looked hard enough, I bet I could find pictures of myself back in middle school wearing fishnet tights underneath black Soffe shorts. Remember those? Yeah, not cute.

But the tights that are often criticized of being “too sexy” or mistaken by your mom as being a stripper uniform are back in mainstream fashion and people are going crazy over them.

View this post on Instagram

who rlly knows

A post shared by sydney lynn (@sydneylcarlson) on

Thanks to the overly-unnecessary-big rips in jeans, we can wear fishnet tight underneath them and high-waisted too,  because, why not? Let’s just make everything high-waisted.

This “grunge” look is SO in this season and probably will continue into Spring. The unexpected fishnet socks are also being seen all over blogs, pair with blocked heels or sneakers. You can also go with the classic look and wear fishnets underneath a dress; try a silk or velvet shift dress.

Personally, I think fishnets are a fad and don’t see them lasting more than two season, but I could be totally wrong. Fishnets are inexpensive so it’s a low-risk trend to try out.

Here are some of my favorite ways girls are styling fishnet tights and socks:


Leave a comment