How I Changed my Breakfast Routine

Anyone who knows me-knows me really well, knows that I love sugar. I have the biggest sweet tooth (although, I don’t like chocolate) so why not start off the day with a sugar high? Before I moved to Amsterdam, my breakfast routine was always, always (expect for the occasionally IHOP trip on the weekend) a bowl of cinnamon toast crunch and milk.

View this post on Instagram

Frosted Flakes + Bananas 😍🍌😛

A post shared by Cristina Michelle (@cristinamichelle_) on

I don’t remember when it exactly started but I always remember eating a bowl of cereal for breakfast since I was little, whether it be Lucky Charms, Frosted Flakes or Apple Jacks. But here in the Netherlands those cereal don’t exist! The first week, I hunted down my favorite cereal and all I could find was a small box of Frosted Flakes and it was 4 euros for one box, that’s wayyy too expensive so I thought this is the time to change things up.

https://www.instagram.com/p/BD05plRA4LE/?taken-by=byteoffashion

I’ve replaced my morning dose of sugar with a smoothie bowl, which are super popular right now especially the acai bowls. They’re easy to make and a lot healthier than American cereals. I have fun making them and slowly have added different topping such as coconut flakes or pieces of granola.

IMG_5727.JPG

My bowl always consist of my favorite fruits which include bananas, strawberries, kiwis, and blueberries but you can add anything to yours. Have fun with your smoothie bowl, add a bit of your personality into it and don’t forget to snap a photo before you eat it!

XOXO

 


Leave a comment